Skip to main content

Sonatina for Flute and Piano

Peter Tranchell's Sonatina for Flute and Piano was written for Henri and Juana Fromageot in May 1966. Gonville & Caius College biographical records list Henri Pierre Marcel Fromageot being admitted in October 1963 as a Research Student (Chemistry), leading to Ph.D. 1966. He and Juana moved to New York later in 1966, where Henri played flute with the Rockland Symphony Orchestra until 2003.

Juana Fromageot is a concert pianist who performs and records under her maiden name of Zayas. Peter Marchbank remembers that "Peter [Tranchell] was, I know, very impressed with her piano-playing when she arrived".

The Sonatina was performed by Henri and Juana at the May Week Concert 1966, and was said to be 'a surprise item ... only recently composed for them'.

The work is in three movements:

I Lentissimo - Allegro (Duration 4'15")
II Andantino semplice (Duration 2'15")
III Allegretto giocoso (Duration 3')

The typeset full and flute part scores are available below. 

Please also see our guidance on the use of scores published by the Peter Tranchell Foundation.

Full score

Cover of typeset full score of Peter Tranchell's Sonatina for Flute and Piano

Flute part

Cover of typeset flute part of Peter Tranchell's Sonatina for Flute and Piano